

Meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC

14-15 January 2024

Namur

Draft Programme Last updated: 12 December 2023



Sunday 14 January 2024

Meeting of the Presidential Troika

Grand Manège – Namur Concert Hall

16.45 Departure to Grand Manège - Namur Concert Hall

17.00 – 17.45 Meeting of the Presidential Troika

Cultural programme and diner

Grand Manège – Namur Concert Hall

18.00	Departure to Grand Manège – Namur Concert Hall
18.30 - 19.30	Music and Light Show at Le Grand Manège
19.30 - 22.00	Welcome drink and seated dinner offered by the Belgian Federal Parliament
22.00	Return to the hotels

Monday 15 January 2024

8.45 Departure from Hotel Mercure to Business Village Ecolys

Meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC

Business Village Ecolys

9.00 - 9.15	Opening session
	 Address by Ms Eliane Tillieux, Speaker of the House of Representatives and Co-Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs Address by Mr Gaëtan Van Goidsenhoven, Senator and Co-Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs
9.15 - 9.30	Procedural issues and miscellaneous matters
	 Results of the meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC Draft programme for the LXXI COSAC Plenary Meeting Outline of the 41st Bi-annual Report of COSAC Letters received by the Presidency Any other business Discussion



9.30 - 11.00	Session I - Presentation of the priorities of the Belgian Presidency of the Council of the EU
	- Keynote speech by Ms Hadja Lahbib, Minister of Foreign Affairs, European Affairs and Foreign Trade and the Federal Cultural Institutions (tbc)
	Debate
11.00 - 11.30	Coffee break
11.30 - 13.00	Session II – The European Pillar of Social Rights
	 Keynote speech by Mr Pierre-Yves Dermagne, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy and Work Keynote speech by Ms Bea Cantillon, Professor emeritus in Sociology of the University of Antwerp
	Debate
13.00 - 13.15	Family picture
13.15 - 14.40	Walking lunch offered by the Belgian Federal Parliament
14.40 - 16.10	Session III – Enlargement and its impact on the future of the EU
	 Keynote speech by a Member of European Parliament (tbc) Keynote speech by Ms Ramona Coman, Professor in Political Science at the Université Libre de Bruxelles Keynote speech by Ms Ivanna Klympush-Tsintsadze, Chair of the Committee of Ukraine's integration into the European Union
	Debate
16.10 - 16.25	Closing Session
	 Address by Ms Eliane Tillieux, Speaker of the House of Representatives and Co-Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs Address by Mr Gaëtan Van Goidsenhoven, Senator and Co-Chair

 Address by Mr Gaëtan Van Goidsenhoven, Senator and Co-Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs