

Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP) 6 - 8 April 2016, The Hague

Draft programme

Wednesday, 6 april 2016

14.00 - 16.00	Arrival of delegations and registration for the event at the hotels
15.45 - 16.45	Meeting of the Representatives of the Presidency Troika and the European Parliament (venue: Plenary Hall, Senate)
17.30 - 18.30	Meeting of the heads of delegation (venue: Plenary Hall, Senate)
	Chair: Mr Nico Schrijver
17.30 - 18.30	Fringe meeting on best practices in the civilian realm of CSDP, organised by Ms Doris Wagner of the German Bundestag (venue: Gravenkamer, Senate)
18.30 - 19.15	Meetings of the political groups (venue: committee meeting rooms, Senate. Please note: no opportunity to return to the hotels before dinner)
19.15 - 19.30	Transfer to Dinner location
19.30 - 22.30	Cocktail dinner hosted by the President of the Senate, Ms Ankie Broekers-Knol, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ms Khadija Arib

Thursday, 7 april 2016

07.00 - 07.30	Morning run (departure from the conference hotels)
08.30	Welcome with coffee (venue: Hall of Knights)
09.00	Opening session
	Chair: Ms Angelien Eijsink
	 Welcome by the President of the Senate Ms Ankie Broekers-Knol Keynote address by the Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament, Mr Elmar Brok Address by the chairwoman of the Netherlands Atlantic Youth, Ms Karlijn Jans
10.00 - 10.45	Family Photo and Coffee break



Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP) 6 - 8 April 2016, The Hague

10.45 - 12.00 **Session I**

Chair: Ms Angelien Eijsink

Video message by the High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy / Vice-President of the European Commission, **Ms Federica Mogherini**

Presentation followed by debate with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the

Netherlands, Mr Bert Koenders

12.00 - 13.30 Lunch (venue: Rolzaal and Kelderzaal)

13.30 - 15.00 **Session II**

Chair: Mr Frank van Kappen

Presentation followed by debate with the Minister of Defence of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, **Ms Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert** and the Chief of Staff of the Netherlands, **General Tom Middendorp**

15.00 - 15.30 Coffee break

15.30 - 15.45 Transfer on foot to the House of Representatives

15.45 - 17.15 Parallel workshops (venue: committee meeting rooms, House of Representatives)

Workshop A "State of play for the Global Security Strategy review"

Moderator: Mr Frits Lintmeijer Rapporteur: Mr František Šebej

Speakers

- Ms Nathalie Tocci, Special Advisor to High Representative/Vice-president Mogherini on the EU Global Security Strategy / Mr Alfredo Conte, Head of Strategic Planning Division, European External Action Service
- Ms Michèle Alliot-Marie, Member of the European Parliament for the EPP

Workshop B Foreign policy aspects of migration

Moderator: Mr Henri Kox

Rapporteur: Mr Ioan Mircea Pascu

Speakers:

- Mr Christian Leffler, Deputy Secretary General for Global and Economic Issues, European External Action Service
- **Ms Esen Altug**, Deputy Director-General for Migration, Asylum and Visas, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Turkey



Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP) 6 - 8 April 2016, The Hague

Workshop C European arms exports

Moderator: **Ms Maria Martens** Rapporteur: **Ms Bodil Valero**

Speakers:

- Mr Rini Goos, Deputy Chief Executive of the European Defence Agency

- Mr Jacek Bylica, EU Special Envoy for Non-proliferation and Disarmament, European

External Action Service

17.30 - 18.00 Presentation of Workshop results and wrap-up

Chair: **Mr Frank van Kappen** (venue: Hall of Knights)

19.30 - 20.00 Reception and aperitif at Dinner locations

20.00 - 22.30 Members' Dinner (venue: Oude Zaal, House of Representatives, Members only)

Hosted by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs of the House of Representatives, Ms Angelien Eijsink, and the Chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Cooperation of the Senate, Mr Nico Schrijver

20.00 - 22.30 Staff dinner (venue: Beergarden, Rond de Grote Kerk 8, The Hague, staff only)

Friday 8 April

08:00 - 08:45	Meeting of the troika (venue: Plenary Hall, Senate)
08.30 - 09.00	Welcome with coffee (venue: Hall of Knights)
09.00 - 10.15	Session III
	Chair: Mr Nico Schrijver
	Presentation followed by debate with the Deputy Secretary General of NATO, Mr Alexander Vershbow
10.15 - 10.45	Coffee break
10.45 - 12.15	Session IV

Presentation followed by debate with Ms Helga Schmid, Deputy Secretary General for Political Affairs, European External Action Service (tbc)

Chair: Mr Nico Schrijver



Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP) 6 - 8 April 2016, The Hague

12.15 - 12.45 Adoption of conclusions and closure of meeting

Chair: Mr Nico Schrijver

12.45 - 14.15 Lunch (venue: Rolzaal and Kelderzaal)

14.15 Departure of delegations