

Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development

DRAFT AGENDA INTERPARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEE MEETING

European Parliament - National Parliaments

"Towards the CAP after 2020:

the Future of Food and Farming"

Tuesday, 24 April 2018, 14.00– 18:00

European Parliament, Brussels

József Antall building (JAN), Room 4Q2

Organised with the support of the Directorate for Relations with national Parliaments

Order of business

Tuesday, 24 April 2018

12.30 - 13.00	Registration of participants
13.00 - 14.00	Buffet lunch (Brasserie JAN 3 Q)
14.05 - 14.10	Welcome and opening speech by Czesław Adam Siekierski, Chair of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Parliament
14.10 - 14-25	Introductory speech by Phil Hogan, Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural development
14-25 - 14.35	Rumen Porodzanov, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Forestry of Bulgaria, on the priorities of the Bulgarian Presidency of the Council of the European Union
14.40 - 16.05	SESSION I - The future Agriculture Policy: A modernised and results based policy for sustainable growth, environmental protection, quality food, health and jobs in the EU
Moderator:	François-Xavier Simon (journalist AGRA EUROPE)
Speakers:	
14.45 - 15.00	Herbert Dorfmann, EP rapporteur on "The Future of Food and farming" Communication
15.00 - 15.10	Josef Plank, Secretary General of the Austrian Ministry for Sustainability and Tourism, future Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union
15.10 - 15.25	Jean Bizet, Chairman of the European Affairs Committee, French Senate
15.20 - 16.05	Debate with national Parliamentarians and MEPs
16.05 - 16.10	Conclusions by the moderator



16.10 - 17.35 SESSION II - implementing the future agriculture policy: how to improve synergies in a multi-level governance process with a strengthened subsidiarity, including the role of Parliaments

Moderator	Angelo Di Mambro (journalist ANSA)
Speakers:	
16.15 - 16.25	Jerzy Bogdan Plewa, Director General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission
16.25 - 16.35	Clara Eugenia Aguilera Garcia, Vice President of ComAGRI
16.35 - 16.45	Pat Deering, TD, Chairman of the Joint Committee on Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Houses of the Oireachtas
16.45 - 17.30	Debate with national Parliamentarians and MEP's
17.30 - 17.35	Conclusions by the moderator
17.35 - 17.40	Closing remarks by Czesław Adam Siekierski, Chair of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Parliament